Here we Are!

Happy Monday friends! I hope it is treating you well so far. Yesterday my Mom and I arrived in Florida. She took the auto-train with me from Virginia. We drove to Virginia early Saturday morning and left from there later that day. It was definitely an interesting ride and I have some stories.

We waited for quite a long time when we got to Virginia, but that’s okay. When we finally got on the train, we found our room, and damn was it tiny! I wasn’t expecting a suite, but this was like a closet for two people. The room had bunk beds, but the top bunk was right on the ceiling. My mom was a trooper and took the top bunk, because it made me feel claustrophobic. 

The guy who was responsible for taking care of our train car was this man named Rasheed. He was funny. He kept making clever little comments and jokes over the speaker. I appreciated it. It is one of those situations where you had to be there to consider it funny probably, so I wont put you guys through that😋.

There is something about traveling with people in a vehicle where you can’t get off if you wanted to. People definitely seemed happier than on planes even though this was a much longer ride. It was like out of a movie. I ate such crap because there really weren’t a lot of options, but I can forgive myself for a few days transitioning. 

I put my floating ear plugs in at night and surprisingly slept for a while. I definitely didn’t think I would be able to sleep on a train, but those little things work wonders I tell you! When I woke up we were in Jacksonville, Florida. While we were sitting and eating our crappy breakfast, our train made a loud crash and it turns out we had hit something. The male waiter went flying and fell down. One of the waitresses said that we had hit a car. It was a hard hit, but in a train it didn’t quite feel quite as intense as you would expect.

We were stopped for about an hour and a half. The rest of the crew wouldn’t tell us what happened, but I still take the woman’s word for it because she seemed like she had been doing her job for a while and had possibly experienced this before numerous times.

It was really jolting. I didn’t really know what to feel at the moment. It was scary because she told us to sit in case the crash wasn’t over. Those few moments were surreal. If anything makes you surrender, it is something along those lines. Thankfully, noone was severely hurt on the train. Maybe one or two got a litte injured, but it could have been worse. As for the car, I have no idea. I hope the people were okay, but I have no way of knowing that. I said a little prayer, but that’s obviously all I could do. 

After all that, we got to where we had to be. I arrived at my apartment in the afternoon. My roomates were amazing and helped my Mom and I set up a lot of my stuff. They were so nice and helpful and I really appreciated that. My Mom and I went to my grandparents house that night to sleep.

Today is my last full day with my Mom for a while, so that is a little rough to wrap my head around. It has been a gift to have her with me on this journey, and I know things will be great for both of us soon. I know we will have a lot more adventures in the future and it will be beautiful. Change is never easy for me, or for most people. However, it is important for growth.

My bosses emailed me and told me they wanted me floating Wednesday through Friday this week, so that made me happy. What a way to be welcomed! It made me feel a lot more excited and happy to be where I am. 

I just wanted to give you guys an update on what has been going on! I am going to enjoy the last day while my Mom is here, but wanted to check in. I will keep you all posted. I will hopefully have some pictures later today. My phone doesn’t have a lot of space, so it’s hit or miss right now. 

Have a great day! 

Leave a Reply

