Short and Sweet Today

Good morning friends. I have a busy work day ahead, so I am just going to share what I gathered from my readings this morning that I found pretty interesting! I only had a chance to read a few pages into each book.

The Zen of Recovery:

We benefit from seeing the anger of others as their suffering.

-Sometimes going “crazy” can be the only way to freedom from a negative past (some of us are motivated by pain).

-We can gain some peace accepting the hand we were dealt and understanding that we were programmed differently, and are inclined to react differently than others might. We can find tools to help us function normally. 

-Having nothing happen during   meditation can be a great relief!- I always thought I was doing it wrong πŸ˜› (apparently not!)

-This World is a dream we can awaken from.

The Book of Floating

-The first international float conference on Restricted Environmental Stimulation Technique was in Denver, Colorado in 1983. Float tanks were acknowledged for their potential in clinics, hospitals, schools, health/wellness/fitness centers, addiction treatment centers, spas etc.

-Hutchison was originally very skeptical about floating. He found the idea of it amusing, and as a journalist, wanted to ge to the bottom of the phenomenon. 

-Before trying floating, he described it as “retrograde” for people to pay to be alone for an hour in a culture where status was earned by being frantic and being exposed to as many simulations as possible.

-There is no real sensory deprivation as people might think. We create our own in a sense.

-Hutchison discovered that the float itself was just the beginning and that its effects were very valuable. Afterwards your senses are heightened.

I will share more tomorrow! Have a lovely day πŸ˜ŠπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’™πŸ’š

9 thoughts on “Short and Sweet Today

  1. I love this idea -> This World is a dream we can awaken from. Inspiring..
    ‘We can gain some peace accepting the hand we were dealt and understanding that we were programmed differently’ – I hope people can understand it, especially in our era of “to be you means to be like everybody else”.
    I can fall asleep during meditation..easy! give me 5 min lol

    And have a good day!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great posting. I can’t remember the name, but there was a movie about this. It was a catalyst for higher consciousness. Anyways, this is an interesting topic. I enjoy your blog because it seems to be about a lot of things. That’s why I called it Daily Ramblings. I don’t want to pigeonhole myself into a topic area. I tried that with blogging before and it didn’t work for me. I do this for the writing. That’s it. I don’t care about making money. All I care about is the writing and hope people enjoy what I’ve produced. I enjoy the craft for what it is. Have a great day and keep these coming.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Awesome share. So I should benefit from my ex spewing hatred–that I do not read–on her new so-called blog, and her creeping my blog and followers? Lol. Seriously, how do you rate the Zen book? I’m looking for a super good book this weekend

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! Haha I mean it may not feel that way at all, but it could help to acknowledge that she obviously feels that hate and it affects her more than anyone else. She is blogging now too? About what? Maybe it will help her to be open to alternative perspectives. I love the book so far.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. She’s blogging hatred about me or so I’ve been told by a follower she hijacked. Doesn’t matter, I’ll never read a word, that life is dead. I’ll have to look into the book, thanks

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

