Love is Always Yours, Nothing can Make it Otherwise 💜

Hello there friends! It is a snowy day in New York, and it looks like I am stuck indoors for the day unless I go outside to shovel. I think it is human instinct to want to hibernate during times like these. It doesn’t even have to be too cold in the house, but just knowing what the conditions are like outside makes it feel colder! Storms make me grateful for the shelter that I have. I am planning on making today a day where I don’t get consumed too much by technology. 

I thought of something while in my room a few moments ago that I decided would be worth sharing. I am in the process of de-cluttering and getting rid of as much as possible so it will be easier when it is time to up and move. I always feel a moment of hesitation before posting something I think others might perceive as corny, but that is not a reason to censor myself! I spent enough of my life doing that damnit!

Anyway, I was going through my closet looking through things, and I came across my favorite stuffed animal as a kid. I think this is a scenario a lot of us can relate to. We put so much love into these object that they sort of become a part of us. We develop these strong attachments to these stuffed creatures. They become a huge part of our lives as kids. We can’t imagine our lives without them. In reality however, they are nothing more than a stuffed object. God forbid something happened to the animal or it got lost. It was like the equivalent of losing a pet or someone close to us.

Looking back at my friend, I can see that very clearly now. At this point in my life, I don’t see him as anything other than a stuffed animal that I shared many emotions and memories with. I no longer derive my sense of safety and comfort from him. If he got destroyed I wouldn’t cry and if he disappeared, I definitely wouldn’t be an emotional wreck.

The point is that we attach meanings to things and even our relationships through our own feelings and beliefs. A stuffed object is only a material object until we put our love into them. When we saw them we felt intense love. We developed a relationship with them through our feelings. I couldn’t help but think about my relationships in similar terms. A person is a person until we get to know them and they trigger certain things in us. Sometimes we are aware of these things, other times we may not be. Most of the time, people blame the other person when it is really an opportunity to come to terms with certain beliefs we may hold that we aren’t consciously aware of.

When I loved someone for the first time consciously, I had this knowingness that the feelings I felt toward him weren’t outside of myself. I knew that he was mirroring the qualities I already possessed inside that I enjoyed and wanted to display more freely. Having this awareness doesn’t guarantee things to be easy, but seeing others as mirrors does give us some of our power back. When we take responsibility for the way we see the World, it opens up for us. I think it gives us more freedom to decide how we want to be in the World.

I love you people! 🙂

7 thoughts on “Love is Always Yours, Nothing can Make it Otherwise 💜

  1. I’m here due to the kind re-posting. 😀
    This is excellently put, Sarah… thank you. I understood this a while ago but it’s essential to re-discover and re-learn.
    Also, I could never have put this across as well as you did. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

