Pros and cons so far

Hey guys! I’m still in the beginning of my research looking into where I will be living. I mentioned in a previous post that I was considering Florida, Arizona, Colorado and Oregon. I found it entertaining looking into these places, as every location is unique and has their perks and downsides. We can get so comfortable with a place that we forget there is a whole world out there. I know I have.New York isn’t the worst place in the world to live I’m sure. It seems to have everything. I do like that there are some nice parks and places to hike. I also like that alternative health is becoming more of a thing here. I am happy that more organic/vegan/vegetarian spots are opening up. I am not fan of the pollution and dense collective energy here. Not to categorize everyone, but for the most part, people aren’t very friendly or conscious around here. I know there are some awesome individuals scattered here and there. I know they say you get what you focus on, but it is challenging to not notice the negative when it is quite abundant. The past year I have definitely noticed a lot more positive. I will also admit that maybe I wasn’t really looking for positives before that time. I was looking for any and every reason to flee.

Now however, I am being more realistic. I am seeing the effects that living at home is having on my well-being and on my relationship with my family. I feel strongly that it is time for me to truly be independent. The universe is pushing me to make the move. If an absolutely amazing experience arises in New York in the next few weeks, I may reconsider getting my own place in New York, but we shall see!

I wanted to share what I have gathered so far, and feel free to correct me if I am inaccurate. I would love any feedback or advice. Here we go friends!!:

Arizona: (considering Phoenix, Chandler, Flagstaff, Sedona, Tempe, Scottsdale, Glendale, Tucson)

Pros: Warm weather, nice sunsets, sunlight, farming, grand canyon, not a lot of rain, no daylight savings time, vortexes, ghost towns, health conscious, people seem more laid back, more affordable living

Cons: Dust, Sandstorms, scorpions, being hot in your car, rattle snakes, monsoon season, know no one that lives there as of now

Florida: (considering Port Saint Lucie, Treasure Coast, Naples, Davie)

Pros: Warm weather, sun, nice beaches, cool wildlife, more familiar with certain areas, family and friends scattered down there, (Naples seems more health conscious, and apparently there aren’t a lot of kids there), more affordable than NY, not as congested-more lanes

Cons:  car insurance may cost more, need more insurance for hurricanes/natural disasters, hurricane season (Naples seems to have some weird laws like no neon signs, but that doesn’t affect me), not much in terms of alternative health care but growing slowly, need shaded parking

Colorado: (considering Boulder and Fort Collins)

Pros: 300 sunny days a year, not too hot in the summer, alternative health care is big, pot is legal, active city, sustainability focused, mountains, research is big, conscious area, more affordable than NY

Cons: snows a lot (may be a deal breaker), fires?

 Portland Oregon:

Pros: health conscious, sustainability focused/eco-friendly, gardening is big, very gluten-free, least religious city in U.S, lots of beards, you can have farm animals as pets, more affordable than NY, don’t pump own gas, little snow, no sales tax, fluoride-free water, wild-life, not illegal to be naked in public? (Not that I have plans of this)

Cons: rains a lot-almost 9 months out of the year (might be a deal breaker), occasional volcano eruption (I think that is kind of awesome), coyotes

 That’s all I have for now. This is just the beginning. As much as I would like to just up and leave, I have some things to consider. I know nothing is permanent, but it would be nice to end up happy wherever I go. I have lived in a bubble up until this point, and it is now time for new adventures!

2 thoughts on “Pros and cons so far

Leave a Reply

