Intentions

Hello there! This is going to be the first of many blogs. My name is Sarah and my passion today is in health and wellness in mind, body and spirit. I wanted to start out by stating that this blog is for the purpose of learning and expanding my knowledge and sharing what I have discovered along my journey that is in many ways still beginning. I will never claim to know everything or have all the answers because I surely do not. I will always welcome feedback here.

For several years now, I have been interested in self-improvement and healing. I have hit many bumps in my road and I still have my struggles. Learning to trust my intuition has proved to be a great asset even though I am still working at it. It took a little while I must say. This blog will contain a variety of different approaches, leaning toward alternatives to Western Medicine. There are so many amazing alternative healing methods today that can allow us to work with our own natural healing abilities that we all have within us.

I was a Psychology major in college, but decided not to continue my education right away in that field after I graduated with my Bachelor’s degree. I was not at my best at the time, and couldn’t imagine myself trying to guide anyone else when I couldn’t make sense of my own life. I just didn’t have the tools yet.

 I got into fitness and eventually got certified as a personal trainer. I found that fitness helped me manage my anxiety disorder and I loved the illusion that physical strength was strength in all areas. It filled a void for me for a while until I was involved in a few accidents that left me with cervical spine injuries that limited what I was able to lift. My ego was relentless at the time, and I would not take no for an answer or slow down. I decided that it would be a good idea to try to compete in a competition in body-building as a means to push myself and inspire other people to go after their goals, or so I thought.

I had no self-esteem and was so out of touch with my intuition. I chose the most ego-driven person I could find and made him my coach for this shit-storm of a journey. Long story short, I ended up getting sick and my injuries got worse. I did quite a number on my immune system/metabolism and was on the road to developing an autoimmune disease from the stress I was putting on myself. I also developed a pretty nasty eating disorder and body image issues that took me quite an effort to make any kind of progress with. I even had to start taking an anxiety medication for a short period of time.

I discovered that from the most difficult times, we may discover out greatest gifts. I took it all as a learning experience and I got certified in Corrective Exercise in order to develop a greater understanding of the human body and how to work with imbalances. I continued training clients and got a job at a wellness/detox center. This job brought a lot of positivity into my life and I became gung-ho about detoxing my life and becoming alkaline. I took this to extremes as well. I discovered a lot of gifts during this time.

I got off my medication, started meditating consistently for the first time, I discovered float therapy and opened myself up to alternative methods of expanding my consciousness. I decided to get out of the way and actually allow myself to heal. I will talk about this in much greater detail in later posts.

This all brings me to where I’m at right now. The information that I have discovered recently has been abundant and came to me in perfect timing. I have a new goal that seems to be exactly what I have been looking for that will allow me to combine all of my passions into one.  That is becoming a health coach with a background in Eating Psychology. I feel that this is where I can make the most impact.

 I have been struggling with digestive issues for several months now. I feel that it is residual from having been so out of touch with my body for so long and from not having been proactive in the past when making decisions about my health. I listened to misinformation. Though the past few months have been exhausting and thoroughly kicked my butt, they showed me that I was never in amazing health to begin with and that there is always progress to be made. It gives me faith that one day soon I will feel better than I ever have. Right now, I’m going with my gut (literally) and taking advice from my acupuncturist and other educated individuals whom I trust and respect. I am looking to sharing with you a lot of what NOT to do and some solution as well.

 Thanks for reading! 🙂

~Sarah~

Leave a Reply

